Twenty-ninth Annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards

Holland Davis won an award for the Most Performed Songs of 2006 as reported by radio stations. The award was for the Big Daddy Weave version of Let It Rise.

Dozens of Christian music’s top stars, including Chris Tomlin, Brian Littrell, MercyMe, Third Day, Natalie Grant, Matthew West, Mark Schultz, Newsong, Todd Agnew, BarlowGirl, Sanctus Real, Rush of Fools, David Crowder Band, Jeremy Riddle, and Superchic[k] convened in Nashville, Tennessee on April 23 to celebrate the 29th Annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards held at Richland Country Club.

This year’s ceremony, hosted by ASCAP Senior Vice President Connie Bradley, featured a Luau theme. ASCAP Vice President Dan Keen joined Bradley in presenting awards to the ASCAP songwriters and publishers of the most performed Christian songs of 2006.

Among the recipients of the evening’s top writer and publisher awards were Sixsteprecords/Sparrow Records lead-worshiper and 2006 GMA Artist and Male Vocalist of the Year Chris Tomlin, who was awarded Songwriter of the Year for “How Great Is Our God” and “Made To Worship” and Bernie Herms who won Song of the Year for “Praise You In This Storm.” Christian Publisher of the Year went to EMI CMG Publishing for “How Great Is Our God,” “I’m Not Alright,” “Made To Worship,” “The Face Of Love,” “What If” and “Wholly Yours.”

In recognition of their innovative leadership in the field of Christian Rock music, DeGarmo & Key reunited to receive the ASCAP Vision Award. They are credited with being at the forefront of infusing rock ‘n roll music with Christian lyrics.

Among the evening’s performers were Connorsvine, Hunter Smith (Super Bowl champion, Indianapolis Colts) and songwriter Chris Wilson performing in honor of Chris Tomlin, ASCAP Country Songwriter of the Year Brett James, Ruby Amanfu and Katie Herzig.